Hater SKU: EVP-602547624260 Barcode: 602547624260

Hater | Hater | Vinyl


Shipping calculated at checkout

Sold Out

Hater: Brian Wood (vocals); Ben Shepherd (guitar, vocals); John McBain (guitar); John Waterman (bass); Matt Cameron (drums, vocals).
Additional personnel: Glenn Slater (Mellotron); Greg Keplinger (drums).
Recorded at Avast, Seattle, Washington.
All songs written or co-written by the members of Hater, except "Mona Bone Jakon" (Cat Stevens) and "Blistered" (Billy Edd Wheeler).
After Soundgarden wrapped up their near year-long tour in support of Badmotorfinger in 1992, the bandmembers took some time off. Just before sessions for their classic Superunknown began, bassist Ben Shepherd and drummer Matt Cameron decided to record some songs for fun with local Seattle friends, under the name Hater. Included in this ad hoc band were ex-Monster Magnet guitarist John McBain, singer Brian Wood (brother of the late-Mother Love Bone vocalist Andrew Wood), and Devilhead bassist John Waterman. Those expecting a Soundgarden-esque hard rock album were caught off guard by Hater's penchant for garage rock and classic rock sounds, as evidenced by a rocking cover of Cat Stevens' "Mona Bone Jakon," as well as the originals "Who Do I Kill?," "Lion and Lamb," "Down Undershoe," "Tot Finder," and "Sad McBain." Although the band released just this one recording, McBain, Shepherd, and Cameron would re-group a few years later under the different moniker Wellwater Conspiracy, releasing the exceptional Declaration of Conformity in 1997. ~ Greg Prato

  • Format: Vinyl
  • Genre: Rock
  • Genre: Pop
  • Released: 07/15/2016
  • Released: 7/15/2016