Semisonic SKU: EVP-602567491163 Barcode: 602567491163

Semisonic | Feeling Strangely Fine [20th Anniversary Edition][2 LP][Black/Gold] | Vinyl

$30.99 $34.98 Save $3.99

Shipping calculated at checkout

Sold Out

Semisonic: Dan Wilson (vocals, guitar, piano, Fender Rhodes piano, Moog synthesizer, loops); John Munson (vocals, guitar, piano, Moog synthesizer, bass, loops); Jake Slichter (vocals, Fender Rhodes & Wurlitzer pianos, Mellotron, drums, loops).
Additional personnel: Matt Wilson (guitar); Bruce Allard, Mary Bahr, Carolyn Bulay, Troy Gardner, Josh Koestenbaum.
Recorded at Seedy Underbelly, Minneapolis, Minnesota.
"Closing Time" was nominated for the 1999 Grammy Award for Best Rock Song.
Semisonic likes to craft happy, mid-tempo distorto-pop songs. Fear not, however--homogeneity rears not its bland face. While acoustic guitar is present throughout, this power trio is adept at varying its textures; Moog, wah-wah guitar and a pretty string section make a happy marriage here. In his lower range, lead vocalist/guitarist Dan Wilson adds a Dave Matthews-esque flavor, while higher up one hears echoes of Bono and Elton John. His guitar lines are simple and evocative, yet reinforced with enough overdrive to feel naughty. "Never You Mind" opens with piano reminiscent of Beatles rompers like "Lady Madonna," generously lacquered with trippy synth whistles and bubbles. The infectious guitar riff on "California" (that's Ca-li-forn-Eye-ah) is a welcome companion to a song about home and volcanoes. Brimming with original popcraft, FEELING STRANGELY FINE is true to its title, rising above its plaintive undertone with a bittersweet sense of wonder.

  • RSD Release Date: DDD
  • Format: Vinyl
  • Genre: Rock
  • Genre: Pop
  • Released: 10/19/2018