Thelonious Monk SKU: EVP-889397217457 Barcode: 889397217457

Thelonious Monk | Alone In San Francisco | Vinyl


Shipping calculated at checkout

Sold Out

Ships In: less than 1 day

Solo performer: Thelonious Monk (piano).Recorded live at Fugazi Hall, San Francisco, California on October 21 & 22, 1959. Originally released on Riverside (1158). Includes liner notes by Orrin Keepnews.Digitally remastered by Danny Kopelson (1987, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).Just as the title promises, this 1959 session features ten solo piano pieces by one of jazz's quirkiest geniuses. The program alternates between originals, including some of his most famous and enduring works ("Blue Monk," "Ruby, My Dear," "Round Lights," "Bluehawk," "Pannonica," and "Reflections") and typically idiosyncratic reinterpretations of pop songs both standard (Irving Berlin's "Remember") and obscure ("There's Danger in Your Eyes, Cherie," included in two takes). Part of Monk's genius is that he never makes a distinction between standards, obscurities and originals, and treats every song as equally important vehicles for self-expression. His style on this album, unique and playfully exploratory, parades his artistry in its purest form, and as such is to be treasured.

  • Format: Vinyl
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Genre: Pop
  • Released: 9/15/2017
  • Released: 09/15/2017