Yoko Ono SKU: EVP-656605028118 Barcode: 656605028118

Yoko Ono | PLASTIC ONO BAND | Vinyl


Shipping calculated at checkout

Sold Out

Personnel includes: Yoko Ono (vocals); John Lennon (guitar); Klaus Voorman (bass); Ringo Starr (drums); The Ornette Coleman Quartet.
Recorded during the sessions for John Lennon's PLASTIC ONO BAND and packaged in nearly exactly the same sleeve (Lennon said his intent was to make some people accidentally buy Ono's record instead of his own), YOKO ONO & PLASTIC ONO BAND springs from the same impulses as its better-known doppelganger. Written and recorded while Lennon and Ono were under the influence of Arthur Janov's Primal Scream therapy, the album's six lengthy tracks are more abstract and yet even more powerful than Lennon's more literal work. Free jazz trumpeter Ornette Coleman makes a guest appearance, giving the album an even more manic, cathartic feel than it might have had already. Highlights include the two-part "Why" and "Why Not" and the even more outre "Greenfield Morning I Pushed an Empty Baby Carriage all Over the City." YOKO ONO & PLASTIC ONO BAND is an avant-garde milestone. The Rykodisc reissue includes three bonus tracks, including the banned single "Open Your Box."

  • Format: Vinyl
  • Genre: Rock
  • Genre: Pop
  • Released: 11/11/2016